BWC national finals start Sept. 7-8

    LED by legendary Paeng Nepomuceno, 80 men and 43 ladies begin the hunt for the Bowling World Cup national title and the right to represent the Philippines in the international finals in Palembang, Indonesia on Saturday and Sunday, Sept. 7-8, at Coronado Lanes.

    Nepomuceno, the only bowler who has won the BWC international crown four times, believes he’s still capable of adding another plum to his long list of achievements.

    Nepomuceno and 79 other finalists play 12 games to determine the top 34 who will advance to the second round.

    On Sept. 8, 43 ladies led by 2017 BWC international champion Krizziah Tabora and veteran Liza del Rosario will open their bids by playing 10 games, with the top 34 gaining second-round slots.

    With their scores carried over, the 34 men will play 12 more games on Sept. 10 while the 34 ladies roll 10 games on Sept. 11 at Superbowl.  The top eight bowlers in both divisions will bowl another eight games to determine the top four who will compete in the semifinal and final rounds on Sept. 13 at Paeng’s Eastwood Bowl.

    Other favored entries are Kenneth Chua, Benshir Layoso, Raoul Miranda, Merwin Tan, Lara Posadas Wong, Mades Arles and Alexis Sy.