Nominees for the National Artists Awards


    Despite restrictions due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Order of National Artists, jointly administered by the National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA) and the Cultural Center of the Philippines (CCP), called for nominations to the National Artists Awards various categories.

    The coveted National Artists Awards, to be conferred by the President of the Philippines, are given to Filipinos who have made significant contributions to the development of Philippine arts in the fields of Music, Dance, Theater, Visual Arts, Literature, Film, Broadcast Arts, Fashion, Architecture and Allied Arts.

    Among the nominees are Eddie Garcia, Ramon Revilla, Vilma Santos-Recto, Peque Gallaga, Ricky Lee, Pitoy Moreno, Ben Farrales, Joey Ayala, and Isagani Cruz. Being deceased, Garcia, Revilla, Moreno and Farrales are nominees for Posthumous Awards.

    Other nominees include pianist and former CCP President Raul Sunico, Nemensio Miranda, famous sculptor and painter, from Angono, Rizal; Nicanor Tiongson, top art critic, creative writer and academician; Shirley Halili-Cruz, The Outstanding Filipino (TOFIL) awardee and world-class dance director and educator, and Ligaya Amilbangsa, known for her studies and promotion of the Pangalay Dance tradition of the Southern Philippines, and a Ramon Magsaysay awardee.